I’m in love

I know I’ve been posting lots about sewing and crafting and quilting, BUT that’s because I’m in super-turbo Christmas present making mode.  Which means, I haven’t shown most of what’s going in the “to-be-wrapped and/or mailed” pile.

Tonight, however, I do have something to share.  It changed my life.  I will probably never quilt another way as long as I live.  Ok, maybe that’s an exaggeration.  But then again, maybe not.  Paper-piecing, aka instead of cutting out shapes and sewing them together, you sew them to paper.  Weird, I know.  But for me, it’s awesome.  Mostly because I’m not good at cutting straight lines, even with a rotary cutter, and I’m not so great at sewing straight lines when I don’t have a straight edge to follow. But amazingly, it doesn’t matter!

Here’s tonight’s square, a wonky log cabin

I’m having lots of fun playing with my scraps and making fun things without feeling guilty about buying new fabric.  This square will probably get turned into a potholder.  Daisy pattern on the back with purple binding?  Pink or purple on the back with the black and white dotty pattern binding?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m in love

  1. Aunt Gale says:

    Will you show me how to do this when I see you on November 6…. Quilting is not my thing but I want to try it…

    I love your posts — you make we want to get out my do-dads and sew or cook or do something artistic.

  2. Patty Patterson says:

    I need more explanation on this one…where is the paper? And does it stay on the project? If this were a pot holder would the paper catch fire??? I’m a fire magnet, no I need to know!

    • jessielpearson says:

      after you sew, the paper is perforated along the seams, so you just tear it off. It just helps keep everything straight and sturdy while you’re sewing.

Leave a Reply

